Couples who have decided that their marriage is irretrievably broken and that they are so incompatible that their marriage cannot continue, may find that a uncontested divorce (non-contested divorce) is right for them. In an uncontested divorce, the couple decides how the marital estate assets will be divided, how joint debts will be paid, child custody arrangement & the child visitation schedule. These agreements are documented in a settlement agreement by the divorce attorney.
There is no Court hearing required for an uncontested divorce and the process typically takes less than 60 days to complete. An uncontested divorce is the fastest and the least expense approach for the termination of your marriage. Contact us today if you want to learn more or get started.
Settlement Agreements for Uncontested Divorce Marital assets include items such as household furnishings, automobiles, real estate, retirement benefits, and financial assets (checking, savings accounts, stock accounts, etc.) Joint marital debts may include such items as a mortgage on a home, joint credit cards, and automobile loans.
When the couple has minor children in an uncontested divorce, the settlement agreement must identify the custody agreement, visitation schedule and child support. There is little leeway in determining amounts to be paid by the non-custodial spouse for child support as Alabama determines such amounts based on gross incomes of the couple.
It is very important that the divorce attorney and client jointly perform a thorough analysis of the marital estate and debts of the parties to develop the settlement agreement.
Obtaining an Uncontested Divorce An uncontested divorce can be started with a phone call to our office. You can schedule an appointment to come in and go over the details of your case. All that is needed to get started is a valid credit/debit card. We accept American Express, Visa or Master Card.
How Long Does it Take? It typically takes about 1-2 weeks for the documents to be completed and signed by the parties. After the case is filed with the Court, there is by Alabama state law a 30-day cooling-off period starting from the date the complaint for divorce is filed with the Court. Decrees are usually issued and become final just after this 30-day period.
“No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers.”
Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.